Focus on Sherlock Holmes series by Arthur Conan Doyle, illustrated by Sidney Paget and annotations by George Cavendish

The Focus on Sherlock Holmes series includes the 24 short stories that were published in The Strand Magazine between 1891 and 1893.

This brand new series especially commissioned by Solis Press features notes, annotations and commentary by George Cavendish.

We have been faithful to the original editions by including high-quality versions of the original Sidney Paget drawings that accompanied Arthur Conan Doyle’s text.

Each book features a map of the main locations featured in the story.

Link to Kindle titles on

Link to Kindle titles on

Also available on Apple iTunes

Series features

Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes is perhaps the world's most famous detective. The Focus on Sherlock Holmes' series is devoted to bringing the books to an even wider audience.

George Cavendish has added explanations as footnotes to help those readers who are not familiar with some of the phrases used by the author and his characters – after all the stories were written over 120 years ago. Some of the author’s phrases are still in use in modern-day British English and these are described to make the text clearer to English speakers from outside of the UK, or to those who do not speak English as a first language. Also included is some background information on places, names and terms used in the story.

It is not essential to consult the notes when reading this book, however, it is hoped that the explanations will enhance the reader’s enjoyment of this story by giving them some insights that might otherwise have been missed.

The books all feature Sidney Paget’s original drawings that were included when the stories were first published, a map showing the main locations mentioned in the stories and a timeline of the period.

© Solis Press